Blackmon Nominated for Hank Aaron Award

Center fielder Charlie Blackmon is the Rockies nomination for the 2017 Hank Aaron Award, which is presented to the most outstanding offensive performance in each league. The award was established in 1999, and this year in addition to fans voting for the eighth year Aaron selected a panel of Hall of Famers to particpate —

Charlie Blackmon

Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Craig Biggio, Ken Griffey Jr., Eddie Murray and Robin Yount.

Six former Aaron Award winners are included in this year’s finalists: Mike Trout of the Angels, Josh Donaldson of he Blue Jays, Paul Goldschmidt of the D-Backs, Joey Votto of the Reds, Giancarlo Stanton of the Marlins and Buster Posey of the Giants. Fifteen finalists were named All-Stars this year. The 30 finalists have combined for 65 All-Star selections.

Fan voting will conclude Oct. 13.  The winners of the 2017 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 113th World Series.

Rockies first baseman Todd Helton won the NL award in 2000.

The finalists for the 2017 Hank Aaron Award are:

American League National League
Baltimore Orioles Jonathan Schoop Arizona Diamondbacks Paul Goldschmidt
Boston Red Sox Mookie Betts Atlanta Braves Freddie Freeman
Chicago White Sox José Abreu Chicago Cubs Anthony Rizzo
Cleveland Indians José Ramírez Cincinnati Reds Joey Votto
Detroit Tigers Nicholas Castellanos Colorado Rockies Charlie Blackmon
Houston Astros Jose Altuve Los Angeles Dodgers Cody Bellinger
Kansas City Royals Eric Hosmer Miami Marlins Giancarlo Stanton
Los Angeles Angels Mike Trout Milwaukee Brewers Travis Shaw
Minnesota Twins Brian Dozier New York Mets Michael Conforto
New York Yankees Aaron Judge Philadelphia Phillies Odúbel Herrera
Oakland Athletics Khris Davis Pittsburgh Pirates Andrew McCutchen
Seattle Mariners Nelson Cruz San Diego Padres Jose Pirela
Tampa Bay Rays Logan Morrison San Francisco Giants Buster Posey
Texas Rangers Elvis Andrus St. Louis Cardinals Tommy Pham
Toronto Blue Jays Josh Donaldson Washington Nationals Ryan Zimmerman

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Kris Bryant and David Ortiz (2016); Donaldson and Bryce Harper (2015); Stanton and Trout (2014); Miguel Cabrera and Goldschmidt (2013); Cabrera and Posey (2012); Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011); Bautista and Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Rodriguez and Pujols (2003); Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).



Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *