Black NL Manager of Year Finalist; Blackmon, Arenado Left Out

Bud Black

Rockies manager Bud Black, who managed a rotation that at times included four rookies, joined D-Backs manager Torey Lovullo and Dodgers manager Dave Roberts in an All-NL West final three for the Baseball Writers Association of America finalist for NL Manager of the year.

Neither Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado nor center fielder Charlie Blackmon are among the final three for the NL MVP.

Charlie Blackmon
Nolan Arenado

Blackmon and Arenado both had impressive seasons, but most likely split the vote, which was evident on the MLB Network show announcing the finalists. Harold Reynolds said he would have chosen Arenado and Ken Rosenthal said he would have supported Blackmon if one of the two were to have made the final three. Form big-league pitcher Ryan Dempster, a panelist on MLB Tonight, said Blackmon, given his defense combined with the offense, was the biggest oversight among the fianlists for any of the awards.

Reds first baseman Joey Votto, Marlins outfielder Giancarlo Stanton and D-Backs first baseman Paul Goldschmidt were the final three for the NL MVP. Goldschmidt is the only one from a winning team, and MLB Network host Greg Amsinger questioned if Goldschmidt was even the best player in the NL West, alluding to Blackmon and Arenado.

Aaron Judge of the Yankees is a finalist for both the AL MVP and Rookie of the year. Jose Ramirez of the Indians and Jose Altuve of the Astros are the other AL MVP finalists, and outfielders Andrew Benintendi of the Red Sox and Trey Mancinci of the Orioles are the other finalists for the AL Rookie of the Year.

First baseman Cody Bellinger of the Dodgers, shortstop Paul DeJong of the Cardinals and first baseman Josh Bell of the Pirates are the finalists for NL Rookie of the Year.

Dodgers lefthander Clayton Kershaw became the second pitcher to finish in the top five in Cy Young voting seven consecutive seasons, and is joined among NL finalists by Nationals right-handers Max Scherzer and Stephen Strasburg. Greg Maddux also was a seven-time finisher in top five Cy Young voting during his career.

Chris Sale of the Red Sox, Corey Kluber of the Indians and Luis Severino of the Yankees are the finalists for the AL Cy Young.

Terry Francona of the Indians, Paul Molitor of the Twins and A.J. Hinch of the Astros are the AL Manager of the Year finalists.

The winners of the award will be announced next week. The Rookie of the Year winners will be announced on Monday Nov. 13, managers on Tuesday Nov. 14, Cy Young winners on Wednesday Nov. 15,and MVPs on Thursday Nov. 16.


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *