Arenado, Blackmon Silver — Again

Nolan Arenado
Charlie Blackmon

Earlier this week Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado became the first player in history to win a Gold Glove in each of his first five big-seasons. Thursday he was awarded his third consecutive Silver Slugger Award, joining Hall of Famer Mike Schmidt as the only third basemen to win win both a Gold Glove and Silver Slugger in three consecutive seasons. And for the second year in a row, Rockies center fielder Charlie Blackmon was voted a Silver Slugger by the NL coaches and managers.

Hall of Famer Wade Boggs also won three consecutive Silver Sluggers at third base.

Arenado and Blackmon are among 14 Rockies players to have won a Silver Slugger, and eight of the 14 have won the award more than once. Todd Helton won a team-high four (2000-2003). Arenado, Matt Holliday (2007-08) and Vinny Castilla (1995, 1997-98) won three apiece. Blackmon Mike Hampton (2001-02), Carlos Gonzalez (2010, 2015) and Troy Tulowitzki (2010-11) won two apiece.

Rockies Silver Slugger Winners

Year Player Pos   Year Player Pos
2017 Nolan Arenado 3B 2002 Todd Helton 1B
Charlie Blackmon OF Mike Hampton P
2016 Nolan Arenado 3B 2001 Todd Helton 1B
Charlie Blackmon OF Mike Hampton P
2015 Nolan Arenado 3B 2000 Todd Helton 1B
Carlos Gonzalesa OF 1999 Larry Walker OF
2013 Michael Cuddyer OF 1998 Vinny Castilla 3B
2011 Troy Tulowitzki SS 1997 Larry Walker OF
2010 Carlos Gonzalesa OF Vinny Castilla 3B
Troy Tulowitzki SS 1996 Ellis Burks OF
2008 Matt Holliday OF Andres Galarraga 1B
2007 Matt Holliday OF Eric Young 2B
2006 Matt Holliday OF 1995 Dante Bichette OF
2003 Todd Helton 1B Vinny Castilla 3B
Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *